Skip to main content
Hero Image Loading


Office of Communications

2 East South Street

Galesburg, IL 61401



News Archive
Ford Center for the Fine Arts

Knox Celebrates Academic Excellence As Students Join Honor Societies

During Knox College's 2024 Commencement weekend, 47 students were inducted into various honor societies, with a special ceremony held to honor those joining Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and most prestigious honor society.

This year's event, held on June 8, 2024, marked the 107th annual Phi Beta Kappa initiation ceremony at Knox. The ceremony was led by Associate Professor of Political Science Katie Stewart and Associate Professor of Classics Mitchell Parks.

The event adhered to several long-standing traditions, including a recounting of the society's history by Parks, while emphasizing the honor and significance of induction. Each initiate was called individually to receive their certificate, learn the society's secret handshake, and sign the chapter’s membership journal.

“It’s nice to be recognized and be inducted into a group of like-minded people,” Alexander Allen ’24 said. “It’s nice to wrap up the journey after a long four years.” 

“It feels prestigious,” Julia Darter ’24  said. “I’m being recognized for the work that I put in to do well in college. I appreciate that recognition.”

Associate Dean and Director of Intercultural Life Tianna Cervantez ’06 was chosen as this year’s alumni nominee for Phi Beta Kappa. As a first-generation student, Cervantez felt she wasn’t fully aware of the significance of the society while attending college. Now, she says the nomination means even more looking back at her journey. “It’s nice to know that the work that I’ve done here for the last 15 years has been appreciated,” she said. 

Knox's Phi Beta Kappa chapter is the fourth oldest in Illinois, and the first at an exclusively undergraduate four-year liberal arts college in the state. Many notable figures are among the ranks of Phi Beta Kappa members, including 17 U.S. Presidents, 39 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, and 136 Nobel laureates.

Rootabaga 2024

Here is the full list of the 2024 honor society inductees:

Class of 2025 Phi Beta Kappa Initiates

Hannah L. Tannas 

Class of 2024 Initiates (*Elected as a junior)

Alexander Patrick Allen

Sarah A. Borchert

Destini A. Boswell

Andie Kristianna Corsino

Autumn Estes Crow

Julia Grace Darter

Claire Meier Dietz*

Rachel Meier Dietz

Cadence Irene Eischens

Casey Blu Foubert

Sahana V. Giri

Marin Hart*

Tove J. Himango

Samuel James Naftzger

Archi Nokrek

Luna Solange Perkins

Kaitlyn Nicole Pierce

Hieu Uyen Quach 

Alexis Taylor Riggs*

Amira Liaan Siddique

Kasey Elaine Snyder

Garrett Raiden Sprinkle

Stacie Amelia Strombom,

Mercedes Lea Swinney

Amelia Wirth

Sage Yoerger*

Alumni Phi Beta Kappa Initiates

Tianna Cervantez '06

Psi Chi - National Honor Society in Psychology

Chanice Dudley

Daeun Kim

Evan Morris

Samhita Gopal Rao

Nu Rho Psi - National Honors Society in Neuroscience

Sarah Hoffmann-Weitsman

Amira Liaan Siddique

Zuzanna Zofia Wrobel

Pi Sigma Alpha - National Political Science Honor Society

Rand B. Al Baka

Alexander Williamson Baackes

Emma Elizabeth Curry

Harini Gunasekaran

Reagan Grey Keeney

Ashlynn Rayme Lenertz

Kasey Elaine Snyder 

Brianna Virginia Arizmendi

Olivia Clark Dunn

Sigma Xi -The Scientific Research Society

Sahana Giri

Sarah Hoffmann-Weitsman

Charlie J. Horvath

Seth Kosanovich

Share this story

Knox College

Printed on Monday, July 22, 2024