Skip to main content
Newly inducted Phi Beta Kappa members sign the new black leather-bound book.


Office of Communications

2 East South Street

Galesburg, IL 61401-4999



News Archive
Ford Center for the Fine Arts

Phi Beta Kappa Inducts Newest Members With New Book

June 21, 2017

Newly inducted Phi Beta Kappa members sign the new black leather-bound book.

by Elise Goitia '18

Knox's Phi Beta Kappa chapter began a new page in its history this spring with its most recently inducted members, who signed their names in a brand-new book.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. Knox's chapter is the fourth oldest in Illinois and the first at an exclusively undergraduate, four-year liberal arts college in the state.

At Knox's first Phi Beta Kappa induction ceremony in 1917, the inaugural members signed a small, leather-bound book, a practice that's continued for the last 100 years. At the 2016 ceremony, the signatures of 2,028 Knox College Phi Beta Kappa members filled its pages.

To mark its 100-year anniversary at the 2017 induction ceremony on June 3, incoming members added their signatures to a new black leather-bound book with the Phi Beta Kappa key embossed on the cover.

"It's very rewarding to see the College reach its centennial observation," said Rothwell C. Stephens Distinguished Service Chair in Mathematics Kevin Hastings, who was inducted as a junior into the 58th Knox class of PBK and has been a Knox professor since 1981. "It's a testament to the quality of what we do here."

A number of notable figures can be counted among the ranks of PBK members, including 17 U.S. Presidents, 39 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, and 136 Nobel laureates. Notable Knox alumni members include the co-creator of the foundational language of computing, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, and the director of the International Women's Human Rights Clinic.

The new members are as follows:

Class of 2017

  • Kenneth Jon-Edward Bartelt
  • Quinn Caitlyn Broda
  • Erin Michelle Carder
  • Evelyn Irene Coffin
  • Emily Rose Corwin-Renner
  • John Stephen Damits II
  • Adam Corey Ferkin
  • Erin Suzanna Frey
  • Thomas Michael Grizzle
  • Mia Tyne Kosmicki
  • Rachel Marie Landman
  • Jessica Alyse Langsted
  • Dakota Sylvan Luna Stipp
  • Mackenzie F. Lynch
  • Emily Elizabeth Malec
  • Andrew Michael Marr
  • Lindsey Marie Morgan
  • Abigail Grace Neuhauser
  • Vlad Gabriel Papancea
  • Sarah Katharine Pawlicki
  • Shealynn Marie Pierce
  • Jeremy Tyler Rainey-Brown
  • Emily Tubbs Rosen
  • Callie Jane Rouse
  • Kim Myro dela Vega Santos
  • Jeremy Peter Schmidt
  • Dylan Steven Stahl
  • Kaylie Nicole Stahl
  • Margaret Mae Stanger
  • Michelle Marie Stomberski
  • Emma Maxine Thornton-Kolbe
  • Stefan Carlo Torralba
  • Joshua WIlliam Tvrdy
  • Anya Wang
  • Allison Lauren Whitehill
  • Alex Lawson Zhou
Class of 2018

  • Nadine Elizabeth Syqu Burroughs
  • Claire Cecile Cody

Share this story

Knox College

Printed on Tuesday, October 23, 2018