Skip to main content
Knox Together: COVID-19 Plans & Policies Give Now
Phi Beta Kappa Induction


Office of Communications

2 East South Street

Galesburg, IL 61401



News Archive
Ford Center for the Fine Arts

Knox Inducts 2022 Phi Beta Kappa Class, and Associate Dean Mary Crawford ’89

Crawford is first alumni member inducted into Phi Beta Kappa in recent memory.

Phi Beta Kappa Induction

Twenty-nine members from the Class of 2022, along with five students from the Class of 2023, were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s prestigious honor society, during Knox’s Commencement celebration. During the ceremony, the students received a certificate, and signed the Phi Beta Kappa book.

“I was so surprised to be chosen, and I am appreciative to be a part of a society that is respected nationwide,” said Addison Anderson, a junior majoring in elementary education with minors in theatre and French.

“It feels awesome to be here. I am so happy we were able to have a ceremony,” said Aditi Parikh, a senior inducted this year with majors in creative writing and psychology. 

“This is such an honor and privilege. I truly was not expecting this, and after I received the news from Professor Katie Stewart, I called my mom right away,” said Daniel Cong Bien, a senior with a double major in political science and environmental studies. Following graduation, Bien, who plans to pursue a career in law, will be an aide to U.S. Senator Richard Durbin.

Also, this year, the Knox College Chapter used its ability to induct alumni members for the first time in recent memory by inviting Mary A. Crawford ’89, associate dean of the College and Philip Sidney Post Professor of Chemistry, to join its ranks. Crawford was recognized for her teaching, research, accomplishments, and leadership. Crawford joined the Knox faculty in 1997.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. Knox's chapter is the fourth oldest in Illinois and the first at an exclusively undergraduate, four-year liberal arts college in the state. A number of notable figures can be counted among the ranks of PBK members, including 17 U.S. Presidents, 39 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, and 136 Nobel laureates. Notable Knox alumni members include the co-creator of the foundational language of computing, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, and the director of the International Women's Human Rights Clinic.

Class of 2023 Initiates 

Addison Anderson 

Kaitlyn McKenzie Cashdollar 

Marina Hope 

Thy Le 

Jia Self 

Class of 2022 Initiates

(*Elected as a junior)

Choudry Abdul Rehman 

Daniel Cong Bien 

Abigail Breslin 

Maggie Cheng 

Mizuho Chiba 

Rachel Nicole Ditty

Tegan McGloin Doherty 

Samuel Esteep 

Alyx Farris 

Maggie Kay Garrett 

Amritha George 

Elizabeth George 

Alyssa Habschmidt 

Beatrice Hartman 

Arisa Kawano 

Brittany Koch 

Rudy Koppikar 

Rose Louise Martines 

Aditi Parikh 

Phuong Eleanor Phan 

Daniel Rafac 

Tenzin Sangpo 

Ghazi Joseph Saoud 

Elleri Scriver 

Faeryn Connifer Sylva Swift 

Ransom Lee Swinney 

Christa Lee Vander Wyst

Akihiro Wakayama*

Nelson Zhong

Class of 2022 PBK Members Initiated in 2021 or 2020

(*Elected as a junior)

Charles Caden Washington Broomfield* 

Marion Opal Frank* 

Rebecca B. Gadiel* 

Ajay Khosla Gustafson 

Sophia Bowley* 

Rosaline Zucker*

Share this story

Knox College

Printed on Thursday, June 8, 2023