Search
Student celebrates at an informal softball game. #

Campus Life > Student Organizations

M.E.Ch.A.

Contact

Karla Medina '18

President

2 East South Street

Galesburg, IL 61401-4999

klmedina@​knox.edu

Apply to Knox Now
A fall sunset from the west side of Ford Center for the Fine Arts

M.E.Ch.A. is an acronym for Movimiento Estudiantil Chicanx de Aztlan, which translates to Chicano Student Movement from Aztlan. M.E.Ch.A. is much more than a club. M.E.Ch.A. came out of the Chicano Movement of the 1960's, and it was founded on the principles of self-determination, education, and desire to liberate our people from institutional or individual oppression.

Mission Statement

The main focus of M.E.Ch.A is to promote student activism for higher education, culture, the history of Chicanos and solidarity with other groups of minority. We strive to broaden the understanding of the Knox community by hosting events that incorporate Mexican culture, history and bring attention to the struggles that affect us as a minority. In addition, as a chapter of a national organization, we aim to bring attention to political issues affecting minority students on our campus and campuses throughout the nation. We welcome anyone to our events and meetings who are interested in learning more about M.E.ChA or becoming an active member.

When and Where do We Meet?

We meet every Monday at 6:00pm at the Human Rights Center.

Executive Board Officers of M.E.Ch.A for 2016-17 Academic Year

Co-President: Marilyn Barnes (mabarnes@knox.edu)
Co-President: Jose Guevara (jaguevara@knox.edu)
Vice-President: Stephanie Cordero-Gonzalez (scordero@knox.edu)
Secretary (Spring 2016-Fall 2016): Claire Schmidt (ecschmidt@knox.edu)
Secretary (Winter 2017): Adriana Ortiz (aortiz@knox.edu)
Tresurer: Salvador Solis (sjsolis@knox.edu)
Public Relations: Karina Garcia (kagarcia@knox.edu)
Historian: Christine Alvarado (cmalvarado@knox.edu)
Committee Chair: Karla Medina (klmedina@knox.edu)

Follow us on the M.E.Ch.A. Facebook page.

Read Related News

Students at the Amtrak station in Galesburg.
Apply for Admission Request More Info Visit Knox

Request Information

Loading...

82,341

hours of service to the community

donated by Knox students in 2016

Knox College

https://www.knox.edu/campus-life/student-organizations/mecha

Printed on Sunday, January 21, 2018

Back to Hello.knox.edu