Skip to main content
Phi Beta Kappa Induction Ceremony

Phi Beta Kappa Members


Helen Hoyt

Associate Professor of Chemistry

2 East South Street

Galesburg, IL 61401-4999



Apply to Knox Now
Student paintings stacked in preparation for the Al Young Student Art Show.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 to honor the best and brightest liberal arts and sciences undergraduates. The Greek initials that form the name of Phi Beta Kappa are the society's motto, "Love of learning is the guide of life."

Membership in Phi Beta Kappa is based on academic achievement. Most inductees are seniors; a limited number of especially outstanding students may be elected at the end of their junior year.

Inducted as Seniors in 2016

  • Nicole Elizabeth Acton
  • Kylie Rae Behnke
  • Timothy Nicholas Berner
  • Jamie Kading Blue
  • Nicholas Riley Britten
  • Kelly Lynn Clare
  • Sophia Dunn Croll*
  • Gavin Andrew Crowell
  • Ellen Sheely Fischer
  • Caleb Shao-ning Fridell
  • Charles Sheridan Harned
  • Emily Marie Hastings
  • Shannon Marie Henry
  • Amalia Rowena Hertel
  • Thomas John Hintz
  • Rebecca Jean Hixon
  • Daniel Hong
  • Douglas William Hulsether
  • Miranda Eve James*
  • Joshua Donald Kemp
  • Nathan David Kemp
  • Benjamin Tyler King*
  • Nicolette Marie Laird
  • Hai Son Le
  • Nicholas John Liberko
  • Livia Castello Branco Mexias
  • Ai J. Miller
  • Pragyaditya Chandra Mukerjee
  • Bradley Wayne Musselman
  • Morgan Leigh Barton Nelson
  • Alanna Marie Toomey
  • Sophia Elizabeth Utpadel
  • Clare Elizabeth Vaughn
  • Julie Claire Wertheimer*
  • Erica Lynne Witzig*

Inducted as Juniors in 2016

  • Joshua William Tvrdy
  • Emma Maxine Thornton-Kolbe
  • Allison Lauren Whitehill

Faculty and Staff Members of Phi Beta Kappa

  • Katherine A. Adelsberger
  • Mary Vlastnik Armon '85
  • Laura Bush
  • Nancy Eberhardt
  • Brenda Fineberg
  • Kevin Hastings '76
  • Robert Hellenga
  • Helen Hoyt '01
  • Karen Kampwirth '86
  • Andrew Leahy
  • Nicole Whittaker Malley '98
  • Andrew Mehl
  • Thomas Moses
  • Duane Oldfield
  • Michael A. Schneider
  • Charles E. Schulz '72
  • Kelly Shaw
  • Megan Scott '96

Read Related News

Students come to the cafeteria in traditional Japanese clothing.
Apply for Admission Request More Info Visit Knox


Fulbright Fellowships awarded

since 2000

Knox College

Printed on Sunday, January 19, 2020