Search
Facilities Services staff plant roses outside Memorial Gymnasium.

Offices & Services > Office of the Registrar > Academic Calendars

Academic Calendar 2002-2003

The windows of Old Main.

Fall Term 2002

September 7, Saturday* New students arrive. Residence halls open at 10:00 a.m. Board begins with lunch for new students
September 7-11, Saturday-Wednesday New student orientation, new student registration Wednesday a.m.
September 10, Tuesday Residence halls open for returning students at noon. Board for returning students begins with supper
September 11, Wednesday Returning student registration, afternoon
September 12, Thursday, 8:00 a.m.
     11:00 a.m.
Classes begin. Wednesday classes Thursday, Thursday classes Friday. Opening Convocation
September 18, Wednesday Last day to add or drop a class or elect S/U grading
October 12, Saturday Homecoming
October 21-Nov. 1, Monday-Friday Pre-registration for Winter Term 2003
October 28-Nov. 1, Monday-Friday Pre-registration for Mini-Term 2002
November 2-3, Saturday-Sunday Family Weekend
November 6, Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a class without approval of the Academic Affairs Committee
November 20, Wednesday, 5:00 p.m. Classes end
November 21, Thursday Reading Day
November 22-25, Friday-Monday Final examination period
November 26, Tuesday Winter vacation begins. Board ends with breakfast. Residence halls close November 26 at noon


*The date for new student arrival conflicts with Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year.  Alternative arrival arrangements and/or accomodations can be made for those affected.

December Break 2002 (Optional)

December 2, Monday Classes begin. Residence halls open and board begins with breakfast
December 20, Friday Classes end. Residence halls close and board ends with supper


Winter Term 2003

January 4, Saturday Residence halls open 10:00 a.m., board begins with supper
January 6, Monday Classes begin
January 7, Tuesday Registration
January 10, Friday Last day to add or drop a class or elect S/U grading
February 10-21, Monday-Friday Pre-registration for Spring Term 2003
February 28, Friday Last day to withdraw from a class without approval of the Academic Affairs Committee
March 11, Tuesday, 5:00 p.m. Classes end
March 12, Wednesday Reading Day
March 13-15, Thursday-Saturday Final examination period
March 16, Sunday Spring vacation begins. Residence halls close Sunday noon. Board ends with breakfast Sunday, March 16.


Spring Term 2003

March 23, Sunday Residence halls open 10:00 a.m., board begins with supper
March 24, Monday Classes begin
March 28, Friday Last day to add or drop a class or elect S/U grading
April 28-May 9, Monday-Friday Pre-enrollment for Fall Term 2002
May 16, Friday Last day to withdraw from a class without approval of the Academic Affairs Committee
May 28, Wednesday, 5:00 p.m. Classes end
May 29, Thursday Reading Day
May 30 - June 2, Friday-Monday Final examination period
June 3, Tuesday Residence halls close close 5:00 p.m. and board ends with lunch except for seniors and those with permission from the Dean of Students
June 4, Wednesday, 10:00 a.m. Senior grades due
June 7, Saturday Commencement
June 8, Sunday Residence halls close 1:00 p.m. No meals served