Opening Convocation 2011 -- Awards

Honors presented to Knox students, faculty, staff

September 08, 2011

By Rana Tahir ‘13

Several awards were presented to students, staff, and faculty at the Knox College Opening Convocation on Thursday.

Lawrence Breitborde, dean of the college, presented the Philip Green Wright/Lombard College Prizes for distinguished teaching. They are awarded each year -- usually to one tenured faculty member and to one non-tenured faculty member.

This year, though, three professors were selected for the prize to non-tenured faculty: Sonja Klocke, assistant professor of modern languages, Stephen Schroth, assistant professor of educational studies, and Amy Singer, assistant professor of anthropology and sociology. The tenured faculty member recipient was Diana Cermak, associate professor of chemistry. The sole criterion for selection is distinguished teaching.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest honor society for students who have achieved academic excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Associate Dean Lori Haslem acknowledged three Knox College students, now seniors, who were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa as juniors: Naomi Akagi, of San Leandro, California; Lauren Smith, of Carthage, Illinois; and Stephanie Lashway, of Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Haslem presented the Elbridge Pierce Prize for scholastic improvement to Ellen Ramsey, a senior from Overland Park, Kansas.

Haslem also presented the Faculty Scholarship Prize to Naomi Akagi and Lauren Smith. The award is for exceptional academic ability and significant participation in extracurricular activities. The Faculty Scholarship Prize is the highest honor awarded to a Knox student.

The Janet C. Hunter Prize is awarded each year to a member of the college salaried staff and to a member of the hourly staff for outstanding service to the Knox community. Amott and Koran presented the salaried recipient award to Andy Gibbons, assistant football coach. They gave the hourly staff recipient award to Marie Scalf, custodian.