Horizons 2012: Art and Writing Awards

May 17, 2012

In addition to showcasing the exemplary independent research, scholarship, and creative work of Knox students from across the academic spectrum, "Horizons: A Celebration of Student Inquiry, Imagination, and Creativity" featured award presentations in several disciplines. This year, the events were held in conjunction with the installation on May 5 of Teresa Amott as 19th President of Knox College.

Below, photo highlights from the 2012 Al Young Art Show and Award Ceremony on May 4, and the 2012 Davenport Awards in Fiction, Poetry and Playwriting on May 7. Photography by Peter Bailley and Hongyu Zhou '13.

2012 Al Young Show Awards:

Young Award in Painting ~ Mark Andrew Farrell
Young Award in Drawing ~ Claire Christine Turner
Young Award in Non-Traditional Media ~ Alexander L. Robertson
Young Award in Photography ~ Nina Elizabeth Litoff
Young Award in Ceramics ~ Bridget Shannon Doherty
Young Best of Show ~ Zackary Michel Herbst

Beverly Bender Award in Sculpture ~ Gabriel Granat Moreno
Beverly Bender Scholar in Art ~ Joshua Michael Gunter

Blick Art Materials Prize in Graphic Design ~ Daniel Sheldon Zekowski

Elda Crichton Campbell Print Prize ~ Skylar James Arend

Isaac O. Peterson Studio Award ~ Laura Gabriela Castanos

2012 Davenport Awards:

A. Eugene & Ella Stewart Davenport Literary Award in Fiction
  1st - Jacob Jeffrey Yordy
  2nd - Erik Steven Hane
  3rd - David Patrick Brankin

A. Eugene & Ella Stewart Davenport Literary Award in Poetry
  1st - Kaitlyn Marie Duling
  2nd - Anne Elizabeth Pittman & Tessa Maria Cavagnero
  3rd - Robert David Carey

A. Eugene & Ella Stewart Davenport Literary Award in Playwriting
  1st - Alyssa Marie Gill
  2nd - Autumn Rose McGarr